top of page

What Are the 4 Steps of Mindfulness?

Mindfulness, also known as present-moment awareness, is the art of being right here and now. Its popularity has been rapidly increasing and the practice that has gained significant attention and appreciation.

This is amazing because mindfulness has so many benefits and can really improve the quality of your life!

But what are the 4 steps of mindfulness? These steps are the cornerstone to understanding and effectively practicing mindfulness.

Let's find out!

A drawing of a peaceful looking person with some beautiful flowers.
The 4 steps of mindfulness are a path toward a more peaceful life.

First Step of Mindfulness - Observation

The first step of mindfulness involves paying attention to your environment, your body, and your thoughts. It's about becoming aware of what is happening around you and inside you, without judgment.

This mindful observation is not just about noticing the obvious. It's also about tuning into the often-overlooked aspects of our environment and ourselves.

Through regular practice, this step helps in cultivating a heightened state of awareness. It trains the mind to be more attuned to the present, which leads to a deeper appreciation for the 'now.'

Second Step of Mindfulness - Non-Judgment

The second step in practicing mindfulness is non-judgment. This means that whatever you are observing, you are perceiving it as it is, without labeling it.

This means that you are observing your thoughts, feelings, and sensations without categorizing them as good or bad, right or wrong. It’s all about allowing yourself to experience the present moment as it is, free from the filters of criticism and bias.

Third Step of Mindfulness - Acceptance

The third step in the journey of mindfulness is acceptance. This phase is all about embracing the present moment without resisting or trying to change it.

Acceptance in mindfulness means acknowledging your feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations, as well as your current circumstances, without trying to alter them or wishing they were different.

Acceptance is sometimes misconstrued as passivity, but it's quite the opposite. It is an active process of recognizing and permitting the existence of things as they are.

Because when you truly accept something and see it as it is, you can start making the right, mindful actions if something needs to be done.

Fourth Step of Mindfulness - Letting Go

The fourth and final step in the practice of mindfulness is letting go. This step is essential for achieving a state of mindfulness, where you are not only aware and accepting of the present moment but also free from the clinging and attachments that often cause suffering.

Letting go means releasing our grasp on thoughts, feelings, and desires that do not serve our well-being, allowing us to experience life more freely and fully.

A person practicing mindfulness and smiling.
The 4 Steps of Mindfulness are: Observation, Non-Judgment, Acceptance, and Letting Go.

These 4 steps of mindfulness - Observation, Non-Judgment, Acceptance, and Letting Go - are more than just techniques; they are a way to live life more fully.

Each step is a building block, helping us to become more aware, more understanding, and more at peace with ourselves and the world around us.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page